About University of Otago
The University of Otago is a New Zealand university based in Dunedin, with approximately 21,000 students, of whom around 3,000 are international students from 100 countries.
Otago describes itself as New Zealand's only residential university. 3,500 first-year students live in one of 14 residential colleges on or near the Dunedin campus, and most students live within 1 km of it. 85% of students come from outside Dunedin.
Around 4,000 students are registered volunteers working with over 200 community organisations through the university's Social Impact Studio. Otago holds Fair Trade status, which it states is a first among New Zealand universities.
Academic Divisions and Faculties
The University of Otago's academic departments and schools are organised into four divisions. The source provides detail on two of these divisions.
Division of Health Sciences
The Division of Health Sciences contains the following faculties and schools:
- Faculty of Biomedical Sciences (Te Kaupeka Mātai Rokoā-Koiora) — covers anatomy, biochemistry, microbiology and immunology, physiology, genetics, and neuroscience.
- Faculty of Dentistry (Te Kaupeka Pūniho) — covers oral diagnostic and surgical sciences, oral rehabilitation, and oral sciences.
- Faculty of Health Professional Programmes (Te Kaupeka o kā Hōtaka Kaio Hauora) — includes the School of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, the School of Physiotherapy, and departments covering medical laboratory science (Dunedin), nursing (Christchurch), and radiation therapy (Wellington).
- Faculty of Medicine (Te Kaupeka Whaiora) — departments span bioethics, medicine, obstetrics and gynaecology, paediatrics and child health, pathology and molecular medicine, primary health care, psychological medicine, public health, and surgery and critical care. The faculty operates across Dunedin, Christchurch, and Wellington campuses, with additional units including a Centre for Rural Health and, in Christchurch, a Department of Māori/Indigenous Health Innovation (MIHI) and a Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine.
Division of Humanities
The Division of Humanities contains the following colleges, faculties, and schools:
- College of Education (Te Kura Ākau Taitoka)
- Faculty of Law (Te Kaupeka Tātai Ture)
- School of Arts (Te Pae Takata) — includes Irish and Scottish studies, classics (including Ancient Greek and Latin), English and linguistics, history, languages and cultures, philosophy, and theology.
- School of Geography (Te Iho Whenua) — includes the Centre for Sustainability.
- School of Performing Arts (Te Kāhui Tau) — covers dance, music, and performing arts.
Entry Requirements
To be considered for admission, applicants must be at least 16 years old when classes begin, meet English language requirements, and hold New Zealand University Entrance or an equivalent qualification.
The source does not specify minimum grades, NCEA credit thresholds, or English language test scores. Some degrees carry additional entry requirements beyond these general criteria; the university lists these under its specialised bachelors' degrees.
Address
Where University of Otago is based, taken directly from the Ministry of Education's own address record for this provider.
Approximate location, estimated from the provider's address via OpenStreetMap — not an official Ministry-verified coordinate. View larger map →
- Street362 Leith Street
- SuburbDunedin North
- CityDunedin
- Postcode9054
- Territorial authorityDunedin City
- RegionOtago Region
Contact University of Otago
Find the published contact details for University of Otago, including its phone number, website and other available contact information.
- Phone0800 80 80 98
- Fax03-4798692
- Websitewww.otago.ac.nz
Contact details combine official Ministry of Education records with information published on University of Otago's own website, reviewed by the KuraData team on 14 September 2026.
Other universities in New Zealand
-
Massey University Palmerston North
-
University of Auckland Auckland Central
-
University of Waikato Hillcrest
Admissions and Enrolment
The application and enrolment process at University of Otago is divided into three stages: applying for a place, accepting an offer, and completing enrolment. The process is managed through an online student portal called eVision.
Applying
Before applying, prospective students are directed to confirm their eligibility, select a programme, check that programme's entry requirements, and review application due dates. New students must first create an eVision account, then submit an application and wait for an outcome. If successful, they receive an offer which they must formally accept.
Enrolling
After accepting an offer, students complete enrolment by providing annual details, selecting papers, obtaining course approval, and completing an online declaration. Current students continuing in a programme repeat the paper-selection and declaration steps each year. Completing the declaration early allows students to finalise any StudyLink application, avoid late fees, and collect a student ID card. Fee invoices are issued through the eVision 'My Account' page.
The source does not specify particular deadlines, required documents, or eligibility criteria beyond these procedural steps.
Fees
The University of Otago publishes annual tuition fees separately for domestic and international students. Fees increase each year; the current published figures are for 2026. A downloadable spreadsheet listing tuition fees by paper code for all available 2026 papers is available from the university's fees page.
Australian citizens and permanent residents studying onshore in New Zealand pay the same fees as New Zealand citizens. Those studying distance learning papers from outside New Zealand pay international fees.
In addition to tuition fees, students pay two compulsory non-tuition fees: a Student Services Fee, which funds services available to students while studying at Otago, and a Pūtea Tautoko | Student Relief Fund Fee, which funds financial relief for students in hardship. Additional administration fees may also apply in some circumstances.
The Government's Fees Free scheme covers fees for the final year of eligible tertiary study or the final two years of eligible work-based learning, up to $12,000. The scheme applies to students completing an eligible qualification or programme in 2025 or 2026 and is scheduled to end on 31 December 2026. Students who complete an eligible qualification by that date may apply for Fees Free within 12 months of finishing, up to 31 December 2027.
Undergraduate Entrance Scholarships
The University of Otago offers undergraduate entrance scholarships for full-time, first-year students. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of criteria including academic achievement, leadership, ethnicity, financial hardship, disability, and sporting or cultural achievement. Applicants are automatically considered for all scholarships for which they are eligible; no separate applications for individual scholarships are required. Applications open on 1 July each year, with many closing on 15 August.
The following named scholarships are available:
- Otago Undergraduate Entrance Scholarships — available to domestic students and to international students who have studied at a New Zealand high school or New Zealand-based foundation programme
- Kahikatea | Transition and preparation scholarships — for Māori and Pacific students undertaking the Foundation Studies Certificate Health Sciences course
- POPO Foundation Scholarship Programme (PFP) — for Māori and Pacific students undertaking the Foundation Studies Certificate Health Sciences course
- University of Otago Pathway | Te Huarahi Scholarship — for international students commencing Pathway | Te Huarahi programmes
Accommodation
The University of Otago operates 15 residential colleges in Dunedin. University Flats are also available, and both residential colleges and University Flats are open to international students.
Beyond university-managed accommodation, students can rent privately in Dunedin, where options include historic houses and purpose-built multi-unit complexes.
Short-term, temporary, and summer accommodation options are also available.
Students can apply for residential colleges or University Flats through the university.
Curated by the KuraData team from University of Otago's own website, reviewed 14 September 2026.
Data source
- SourceTertiary Providers Directory — Ministry of Education
- KuraData last checked6 September 2026
- Editorial content based onUniversity of Otago's official website — reviewed 14 September 2026